My DIY Cleansing Balm Fail

Source: Country Hill Cottage

Hi all!

Today’s post is about my failed attempt at creating a homemade cleansing balm. I decided to go this route because I wanted a cleansing balm that was actually good for my skin and would cater to my specific skin concerns. For instance, I have this one pesky blackhead that’s barely noticeable, but won’t go away. And, I also wanted to incorporate nourishing ingredients as well, to offset any of the harsher, more potent ingredients. Before jumping into the DIY world, I looked up many recipes and finally came to one that I felt was good enough for what I wanted to accomplish. The recipe I followed is from Mindful Momma and I just substituted certain ingredients. So, let’s break it down by ingredients first.

The ingredients include:

Shea Butter: an excellent moisturizer for dry skin, can even treat acne and blemishes, and is known to have anti-aging properties. The one I used is Yellow Brick Road.

Cocoa Butter: high in fatty acids, which is why it’s often touted for its ability to hydrate and nourish the skin and improve elasticity. I used NOW Solutions Cocoa Butter.

Evening Primrose Oil: known to help clear up acne, ease eczema, and improve overall skin health. The one I used is also from NOW Solutions.

Hemp Seed Oil: helps to moderate oil production, contains omega-6 fatty acids to moisturize and soothe inflammation, has anti aging properties, and can even treat atopic dermatitis. I used Aura Cacia Organic Hemp Seed Oil.

Tea Tree Oil: possesses antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, antiviral, and antifungal properties. Thus, it can be used to treat acne and contact dermatitis. I thought this would be the perfect addition to my cleansing balm to help with my blackhead. So, I tried to find the purest form- Desert Essence 100% Australian Tea Tree Oil.

Vitamin E Oil: a great moisturizer overall, this oil has wound healing properties, and can be used to prevent and minimize the appearance of scars and fine lines and wrinkles. I bought 100% Vitamin E Oil.

To store the cleansing balm, I used a 4 oz. Mason Ball Jelly Jar.

Now this is the recipe I followed. Although, I did change up a few ingredients.

– 2 tablespoons shea butter

– 1 tablespoon evening primrose oil

– 1 tablespoon solid cocoa butter

– 1 teaspoon hemp seed oil

– 5 drops tea tree oil

– 5 drops vitamin e oil

Instructions:

1. Place shea butter, evening primrose oil, and cocoa butter in a glass bowl. 

2. Microwave for 30 seconds. Stir and microwave for 30 more seconds.

3. Repeat until all ingredients are melted. Let cool slightly until mixture is slightly warm but not hot.

4. Add other oils and mix well.

5. Pour mixture into glass, metal or plastic jars.

6. Wait for cleansing balm to cool completely and solidify before using. 

7. Refrigerate if desired to speed up the process.

8. Makes about 1/3 cup – enough for one jar of cleaning balm. 

After letting the cleansing balm solidify overnight, it was really hard the next morning. I think maybe there was too much shea butter or something. I then added another tablespoon of evening primrose oil to help loosen the consistency, and after letting that solidify, it was very “balm-y.” I was happier with this batch, but then I started getting these little bumps on my chin and around my mouth, similar to eczema, over the next few days. These ingredients on their own are really great at treating various skin concerns, that’s why I chose them, so I was very disappointed that it didn’t work. I think that maybe they interacted with each other and caused some type of reaction.

I wanted to share my experience because I think DIY projects are great because it allows you to research the ingredients and sort of come up with your own recipe. I definitely feel it was the combination of the ingredients that made me react to this balm, but now that I’m into it, I’ve started researching other DIY recipes, such as for a cleanser and serum. The most important thing is to do your homework and never go in blind.

* Some of these link are affiliate. However, all opinions are my own.

~Sabrina

Leave a comment