My Updated Skincare Routine-So much has changed!

Source: Huda Beauty

Hi all!

As you can tell, today’s post is about my updated morning skincare routine. In my first post about my skincare routine, I mentioned using a spin brush and several serums. Currently, I do not use this method anymore. I’m trying to be much more gentle with my skin from now on. So, here it is…

Cleanser

In the mornings, I’m still using my Drunk Elephant Beste No. 9 Jelly Cleanser, although, I have also purchased the Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser and I must say, I really like it! Both of these cleansers are gentle and non-irritating for my sensitive skin.

Toner

I’ve moved on from rose water as a toner and am now using the Kiehl’s Calendula Herbal Extract Alcohol Free Toner. This toner is so lightweight yet hydrating, and is doing wonders for my skin. Calendula is known to help soothe redness, dullness and uneven texture.

Serum

I’m trying to take it easy on my skin since it is very sensitive, so I’m only using one serum in the mornings and one at night- under moisturizer. During the day, I’m currently using the Maelove Glow Maker, which is highly raved about. This serum is very similar to the Skinceuticals vitamin c serum that costs over $150. So far, it’s too early to see any noticeable differences, but there haven’t been any adverse effects. I would say this serum has a consistency similar to the Mad Hippie vitamin c serum.

Eye Cream

After doing much reserach and watching tons of Youtube videos, I’ve recently purchased the Cosrx Advanced Snail Peptide Eye Cream. This eye cream has so many good reviews, and while I’m not too keen on the snail mucin part, I am willing to try it out to see if it makes a difference. It claims to depuff and brighten the look of dark circles, hydrate the under eye area, plump to provide a more youthful appearance, and reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. We shall see…

Moisturizer

I’ve gone from using CeraVe’s Ultra-Light Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 to now just using their Daily Moisturizing Lotion. Both are lightweight and have hydrating qualities, such as hyaluronic acid and ceramides. This lotion also leaves a matte finish, which is great for my combination skin.

Sunscreen

After applying my moisturizer, I layer Supergoop Mattescreen Sunscreen SPF 40. I’ve shied away from using chemical sunscreens because there are studies that say they act as hormone disruptors, and instead prefer physical sunscreens that don’t sink into the skin but rather stay on top. This sunscreen has 17.4% zinc oxide, which is an incredible amount for optimal sun protection. It also leaves a matte finish that looks very natural. I like that this has a little tint which helps it to blend into my skin easily without leaving a white cast. In addition, I am also still applying lip balm with SPF. I use Kiehl’s Butterstick Lip Treatment SPF 30. I am still using the untinted shade, but may try one of the other shades in the future.

So, that’s my current skincare routine. It has been quite a few months since my initial post about my skincare routine and my hyperpigmentation has really improved. I still continue to do research about my skin concerns and watch Youtube videos about product reviews. I highly recommend watching a few videos of before-and-after reviews before purchasing a product to really see what the results might look like!

~Sabrina

Leave a comment